About CF FamilyCon

There is no single definition of “family,” and when you're living with cystic fibrosis, family can take on a meaning that's utterly different from most people's definition. What family means to you also changes over time. CF FamilyCon is a virtual event for members of the CF community to share the experiences of living with CF and loving the people who are in it with you. We'll tackle topics like:
 
  • As a parent of a young child with CF, how do you care for them and prepare them for the future?
  • As a partner to someone with CF, how do you balance your intimate relationship with caregiving?
  • As a child of someone with CF, what is your role in your parent's support system?
  • As a sibling of someone with CF, how do you relate to the situation around you?
  • As a teen or young adult with CF, how do you deal with the issues that affect your life the most?
  • As you age with CF, how does your support system change?
  • How does everyone in a CF family navigate life's milestones and regular days?
 
These questions and others -- and the many feelings that come with them -- will be explored at CF FamilyCon. People with CF and their loved ones are invited to this free virtual event created by and for the CF community, which will take place on Sunday, June 9, 2019.
 
In order to better serve the entire community, CF FamilyCon 2019 will have two areas of focus.
 
The first half of CF FamilyCon (1-5:15 p.m. ET | 12-4:15 p.m. CT | 11 a.m.-3:15 p.m. MT | 10 a.m.-2:15 p.m. PT) will focus on relationships, and sexual and reproductive health for adults with CF and partners of adults with CF, whether you are in a relationship or not. We will be exploring all things related to dating and intimate relationships, options and decisions regarding building a family, and reproductive health specific to men and women with CF.
 
The second half of CF FamilyCon (5:15-10 p.m. ET | 4:15-9 p.m. CT | 3:15-8 p.m. MT | 2:15-7 p.m. PT) will focus on understanding how CF affects family dynamics, and is open to anyone touched by CF who may have questions, frustrations, ideas, or just needs someone who understands their perspective. No matter what your family looks like or who you consider to be family, you can find support and connection.
 
CF FamilyCon is open to people with CF, family members, caretakers, and members of a support system who are age 16 or older. Many sessions are open to all registrants; however, access to some sessions will be limited based on your connection to CF. Please see the session descriptions for details.
 
For questions about this event, please email virtualevents@cff.org.

Agenda

Program Planning Work Group
Lynda Griffin (Co-Chair), Anna McVey-Tyson (Co-Chair), Elizabeth Amber, Lindsay Attaway, Linda Bowman, Sharon Cray, Laurie Eddy, Katherine Fielding, Alex Gantt, David Hansen, Ruby Honan, Jennifer Kyle, Megan Lepore, Ashley Ranes, Carl Riedy, Katharine Scrivener, Melissa Shiffman, Jon Standley, Julie Riedy, Rob Ronnenberg, and Dan Schulke.
 
CF FamilyCon is open to people with CF, family members, caretakers, and members of a support system who are age 16 or older. Many sessions are open to all registrants; however, access to some sessions will be limited based on your connection to CF. Please see the session descriptions for details.

Part 1: programming for adults with CF and partners of adults with CF
All times listed below are Eastern Daylight Time.

Sunday, June 9, 2019
1:00 PM - 1:30 PM
Keynote
1:30 PM - 1:45 PM
1:45 PM - 2:45 PM
Small-Group Discussion
Small-Group Discussion
Small-Group Discussion
Small-Group Discussion
Small-Group Discussion
Panel Discussion
2:45 PM - 3:00 PM
3:00 PM - 4:00 PM
Small-Group Discussion
Small-Group Discussion
Small-Group Discussion
Small-Group Discussion
Small-Group Discussion
Workshop
4:00 PM - 4:05 PM
4:05 PM - 4:15 PM
Closing
4:15 PM - 5:15 PM
Social

Part 2: programming for all people with CF, family members, friends and members of the support system
All times listed below are Eastern Daylight Time.

Sunday, June 9, 2019
5:15 PM - 6:15 PM
Keynote
6:15 PM - 6:30 PM
6:30 PM - 7:30 PM
Small-Group Discussion
Panel Discussion
Panel Discussion
Small-Group Discussion
Small-Group Discussion
Workshop
Panel Discussion
7:30 PM - 7:45 PM
7:45 PM - 8:45 PM
Small-Group Discussion
Small-Group Discussion
Panel Discussion
Workshop
Small-Group Discussion
Panel Discussion
Small-Group Discussion
8:45 PM - 8:50 PM
8:50 PM - 9:05 PM
Closing
9:05 PM - 10:00 PM
Social